Student Session

Student Session

Student Session Call for Papers

We invite students in any area at the intersection of Logic & Language, Language & Computation, or Logic & Computation to submit papers to the ESSLLI 2022 Student Session, taking place in Galway, Ireland from August 8-19.

Important Dates

Please take note of the following important dates:

  • Extended submission deadline: April 11, 2022
  • Notification of acceptance: June 9, 2022
  • Submission of camera-ready extended papers: July 4, 2022
  • Conference dates: August 8-19, 2022

Call for Papers

  • About: We invite submissions of original, unpublished work from students in any area at the intersection of Logic & Language, Language & Computation, or Logic & Computation. Submissions will be reviewed by several experts in the field, and accepted papers will be presented orally or as posters. This is an excellent opportunity to receive valuable feedback from expert readers and to present your work to a diverse audience. We also welcome smaller research projects and work in progress. Selected papers have regularly been appearing in the Student Session proceedings published by Springer (e.g.
  • Oral/Poster Presentations: Note that there are two separate kinds of submissions, one for oral presentations and one for posters. This means that papers are directly submitted to be presented either as oral presentations or as poster presentations. Reviewing and ranking will be done separately.
  • Sponsorship and Prizes: Springer generously supports the ESSLLI Student Session by offering prizes for a total of 1000€ in Springer books. The best poster and the best talk will each be awarded Springer book vouchers of 500€ each. The prizes are awarded based on the reviews of the submission as well as the oral/poster presentation.

Submission policies:

  • All authors must be students, i.e., authors may not have received their PhD degree before August 2022.
  • Submissions may be singly or jointly authored. No one may submit more than one singly and one jointly authored paper.
  • If a student wants to submit both to the Student Session and to another workshop hosted by ESSLLI 2022, the presentations should be different from each other.
  • Submissions must not be longer than 8 pages for an oral presentation and 4 pages for a poster presentation (excluding references but including all other material, such as examples, figures and tables).
  • Submissions must be in PDF format. We strongly recommend to use the LNCS Springer class files for LaTeX2e, since accepted papers will have to be written in this format for the proceedings (see below for more information). If you do not use this template, make sure that your submission meets the following criteria: A4 (21 cm x 29.7 cm), 4.5 cm top margin, 4 cm right margin, 6.5 cm bottom margin, 5 cm left margin, 10pt font.
  • Submissions must be anonymous. That is, the submitted PDF file is not allowed to contain any information by which the author(s) can be identified, e.g., no author names.
  • Submissions must be received by April 11, 2022 (by 23:59 GMT time) and must be submitted through EasyChair using the following link:

Publication policies:

  • If a paper has been accepted for the program of the Student Session but the author(s) cannot attend the Student Session to present their work, the paper might not be accepted for publication.
  • Accepted papers will have to be written in LaTeX in standard LNCS format (10 pts), using the Springer class files for LaTeX2e
  • Authors are expected to improve their papers according to the reviewers’ comments and suggestions.


Attendance of the ESSLLI 2022 Student Session including presenting a poster or a talk requires registering for ESSLLI.


ESSLLI 2022 Student Session Organizers are:

  • Alexandra Mayn (Saarland University)
  • Dean McHugh (University of Amsterdam)

LoCo co-chairs:

  • Ioannis Eleftheriadis (University of Cambridge)
  • Joseph Singleton (University of Cardiff)

LoLa co-chairs:

  • Zi Huang (Pompeu Fabra University)
  • Tikhon Pshenitsyn (Lomonosov Moscow State University) 

LaCo co-chairs:

  • Xixian Liao (Pompeu Fabra University)
  • Matthias Lindemann (University of Edinburgh)

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..